Samsung Galaxy S I9000, Android 2.3.3 and USB tethering on Ubuntu

I have already written about this on Tethering page for Galaxy, but I guess I have to repeat it here.

If you upgrade Samsung Galaxy S I9000 with Android 2.3.3, then be warned that USB tethering does not work with Ubuntu. You will get

bad CDC descriptors

errors, and usb0 network connection is not activated. This bug is only in original Galaxy S, in Galaxy S II usb tethering works just fine. There is nothing wrong in Ubuntu, the problem is entirely on Galaxy S.

I experimented with this and found a solution, old reliable wvdial. Wvdial is a command line application I have used when everything else fails. It has nice configuration utility which probes your hardware and generates a wvdial.conf configuration file. Quite often it works without modifications, but in this case I had to modify it a little. More detailed instructions are on Tethering page for Galaxy.

Comments
8 Responses to “Samsung Galaxy S I9000, Android 2.3.3 and USB tethering on Ubuntu”
  1. Elmerios says:

    Thanks, I thought that my galaxy was broken. Now I can surf again.

  2. fundroid says:

    With samdung galaxy you have to use command line? With iPhone you just click icons. No command line. Linux equals ms dos.

  3. AriiDhrugali says:

    Thanks for putting this out, I will not upgrade my Galaxy until I have installed wvdial.

  4. Blarssen says:

    I think I will keep 2.2 for a while.

    • technomagus says:

      That is up to you, of course, but I recommend upgrading to 2.3.3. I found it to be faster and more reliable than previous 2.2. Problem with USB tethering is annoying, I admit that, but you can circumvent it with wvdial. It is not as easy to use as USB connection sharing, but at least it works.

  5. Archtech says:

    I upgraded to 2.3.3 and noticed that usb tethering does not work. Are they going to repair it or what.

    I can use wvdial but my wife does not want to hassle with command line applicatons.

  6. fpinta says:

    although WVDIAL allows to connect to the Internet, is not the same as USB tethering. The first one makes a connection in a mode called dual-box, the second one allows to use your phone as a router and then totally transparent to the network (operators might fare in a different way traffic in dual-box). There is a solution to use already my phone with USB tethering?

  7. Samuel says:

    The easy solution is just to use the AP mode instead. That’s what I always use so I don’t have bother with the USB cable (unless I need to charge it too). That way you can also let others use it if you want.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 104 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

