Samsung Galaxy S, Android 2.3.3 firmware and broken USB tethering

Found out that Samsung boys have screwed USB tethering in 2.3.3 firmware. It does not work with Ubuntu as it did before. And the fault is quite clearly in Galaxy firmware, not in Ubuntu. You should first navigate USB tethering menu (Settings->Wireless..). When you connect the USB cable, then Kies mode is activated automatically. Also, you will see that USB tethering option is now available. However, if you press it, Ubuntu cannot recognize it and you can see messages “Bad CDC descriptors” in dmesg.

Well, I thought about this, and did some testing. Before you activate USB tethering (while Kies mode is running), everything is okay. It is only after USB tethering activation that things go wrong. And I could see that before that Galaxy S was recognized properly as modem.

So I took old trusty wvdial and got things working. While you are waiting a new firmware to come out, you can use wvdial to connect to internet. Install wvdial, then use wvdialconf to produce configuration file, edit it according to your ISP, and you are connected again.

I wrote more detailed information on this page. Just scroll down for Samsung Galaxy S and Android 2.3.3 Update.

Comments
One Response to “Samsung Galaxy S, Android 2.3.3 firmware and broken USB tethering”
  1. Purusothaman A says:

    Hi All,

    I have been looking for wvdial for my android honeycomb tablet for using my Sony Ericsson Hazel (j20i) mobile as modem.

    ie, I have non-android mobile with GPRS enabled.
    I like to connect this to my honeycomb tablet then use my mobile as modem.

    But sadly, honeycomb does not have wvdial.

    Any thoughts ?

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other subscribers